DUI Attorney in Illinois
When a driver is charged with DUI in Illinois, he or she faces severe consequences.
For a first DUI conviction, the individual faces a 1-year loss of full driving privileges, imprisonment up to a year, and a maximum fine of up to $2,500.
For a second DUI conviction within a 20-year period, the driver faces a 5 year loss of full driving privileges, mandatory 5 days imprisonment or 240 hours community service, imprisonment for up to one year, and a maximum fine of ax fine $2,500.
For a third conviction, Class 2 felony, the driver faces a minimum ten-year loss of full driving privileges, mandatory 18 to 30 month periodic imprisonment, imprisonment for up to 7 years, and a maximum fine of $25,000.
If a driver is charged with "Aggravated DUI" a Class 4 Felony following a crash resulting in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement, there is a minimum one-year loss of full driving privileges, mandatory ten days imprisonment or 480 hours community service, imprisonment for up to 12 years, and a maximum fine of $25,000.
Summary Suspension Procedure
The state of Illinois has a "Summary Suspension" procedure that, irrespective of the criminal charges pending for the DUI arrest, works to suspend the driving privileges of the accused driver.
For a first offense where a chemical test indicates a BAC of .08 or greater there will be a mandatory six-month driver's license suspension.
If an individual refuses to submit to a chemical test, there will be a 12-month license suspension.
Subsequent offenses where the chemical tests indicates a BAC of .08 or greater will result in a mandatory one-year driver's license suspension.
OTHER ALCOHOL OFFENSES
Providing alcohol to a person under age 21 can result in imprisonment for up to one year with a maximum fine of $2,500.00
Obtaining a driver's license through false affidavit is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
Allowing another person to use your identification documents to apply for a driver's license or ID card is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
The "Zero Tolerance" law provides for suspension of the driving privileges of any person under the age of 21 who drives after consuming alcohol. Like the name zero tolerance suggests, any trace of alcohol in a young person's system can result in a suspended driver's license. The Zero Tolerance law applies regardless of where the offense occurs and therefore, is not limited to offenses that occur while driving or in a motor vehicle. Also, any plea of guilty on these offenses, including those resulting in an order of court supervision, will result in a loss of driving privileges.
Traffic Law Center DWI lawyers and DUI lawyers are licensed in Missouri, Illinois and Kansas.
If you need a St. Louis DWI lawyer or an Illinois DUI lawyer, call TLC at 314-842-5381.
- DWI (Driving While Intoxicated in Missouri)
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence in Illinois)
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence in Kansas or Kansas City)
- Transportation of open liquor
- Minor in Possession of Alcohol
- Ignition interlock devices
- All other DWI and DUI related charges