DUI Attorney in Kansas City
Time is of the essence. When and individual is charged with DUI in Kansas City (Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs), he or she should immediately consult with an experienced and competent DUI attorney. If the accused's blood alcohol level is above the legal limit (.08% for those 21 & over, .02% for those under age 21), he or she MUST file an administrative hearing request within 10 days of the arrest or the driver's license will be automatically suspended or revoked.
In addition to the automatic license suspension or revocation, the driver faces the following:
- For a first DUI offense, a Class B misdemeanor, jail is authorized for up to six (6) months, minimum fine of $500 and court costs, and 48 hours of incarceration before eligible for probation.
- For a second DUI offense, a Class A misdemeanor, jail is authorized up to one (1) year, minimum fine of $1,000 plus court costs, and probation only after 5 days of incarceration.
- For a third or subsequent DUI offense, may result in a felony charge where the minimum jail sentence is 90 days to 1 year in prison, minimum fine of $2,500 plus court costs, followed by probation.
OTHER ALCOHOL OFFENSES & ISSUES
If a driver is arrested for DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, he or she faces the same penalties as a person in a passenger car, but automatically loses his/her CDL.
If the driver is younger than 21 and found to have a BAC of .02% or higher, he or she faces an automatic 30-day driver's license suspension, followed by a period restricted driving privileges.
Breath Test Refusal. The refusal to take a blood alcohol test is handled separately from the DUI criminal charges, in that even if the driver is acquitted of the criminal charges, a one-year license suspension may be imposed by the licensing authority.
Hardship License. In Kansas, no limited or hardship license is available where there has been a chemical test refusal.
Traffic Law Center DUI lawyers are licensed in both Missouri and Kansas.
DWI Law Cases
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence in Kansas or Kansas City)
- Transportation of open liquor
- Minor in Possession of Alcohol
- Ignition interlock devices
- All other DWI and DUI related charges